PR Skills Reflection

After reading Dave Fleet’s blog post 14 Key Attributes for New Public Relations Professionals I have a better understanding of what it takes to be a successful PR professional. I believe the most important skills from Dave Fleet’s blog post are writing and communication skills, understanding of social networking sites and understanding of blogs. PR is all about written and oral communication, so these qualities are a must. Social networking is increasingly being used in the job market, so being tech savvy is also a necessity these days. I am graduating this year, so when I look up job listings, these attributes frequently pop up. If I could add something to the list, I would add ethics. Not just social media ethics, but ethics in general as well. Being ethical as a PR professional is important for creditability. In PR, honesty is always the best policy. Fleet mentions understanding SEO, coding and RSS. I am not as familiar with these attributes, but I will have to do research to gain skills for my future PR career.

I also read Vadim Lavrusek’s post on 8 Must-Have Traits of Tomorrow’s Journalist I think an excellent trait that was highlighted is being multi-skilled. Once again, this blog post talked about the importance of SEO skills and being able to write a good blog post. Practice and understanding of these tools is something I need to do. I like the ‘open-minded experimenter’ trait because it talks about learning the strengths and weaknesses of different types of media. Knowing a lot more about the different areas of of the media can make one more credible as a professional in getting their message across in the most effective way. Lavrusek’s blog post reiterates the need to be immersed in social media which I am pushing myself to do everyday. Being immersed in the news and trends is significant which would go under the ‘open-minded experimenter’category. Being knowledgeable of what is popular and currently going on in the real world can once again boost credibility. Lavrusek says “The journalist of tomorrow should be willing to experiment with new tools, not be afraid of them.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

