Blogging/Content Management Systems: Worthy of Learning?

For years, I had heard of online blogging but did not know what it was exactly. I recently became familiar with it when I studied abroad in Australia for 6 months. I used Blogger to keep my friends and family posted on my adventures overseas. I was able to work on my writing skills and network with others who had similar travel experiences. To read about my study abroad adventures go to www.mollyndownunder.blogspot.com

I believe learning about blogs is essential in the PR and journalism industry. I found this quote from a blogger who speaks of The Importance of Blogging in Online Marketing:

“A blog is a personal diary. A daily pulpit. A collaborative space. A political soapbox. A breaking-news outlet. A collection of links. Your own private thoughts. Memos to the world.”

Blogs are important because they give a person a chance to build their own brand and reputation. Blogs become your own space. They are like your very own online blank canvas. Chose your words wisely, for a blog is way of marketing yourself and representing your expertise. Blogs give one a chance to show their writing skills and be able to connect and network with others.

Having a blog can lead to job offers. Jeremiah Owyang, Industry Analyst at Altimeter Group, talks about The Importance of Blogging saying he landed his last two jobs through blogs because links continued to point back to him. Therefore, employers became interested.

Recently, I have been learning about content management systems in my Multimedia Writing class. The process has been confusing and challenging, but I think it is a valuable skill to learn. Personally, I am interested in working with social media and web development. Therefore, I would like to learn more about CMS and be able to become an expert at it.

I have been researching internships almost everyday and am noticing the importance of SEO (Search Engine Optimization) which is creating keywords to allow your site to show up in search engines. SEO is a valuable tool which I did not know much about before. Learning and understanding SEO will help control and increase traffic to a site.

I just started working on my own website using Weebly and GoDaddy which is how I will be able to learn and develop my CMS skills.

As a PR student, CMS and blogs are important. The internet is almost one of the most used forms of media and is continuing to grow. I hope to learn more about CMS to be able to market myself as a professional. I can use my new knowledge to build my own website and to also be of value at the company I chose to work for.

>

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

